What love language best describes you?


Photo by freestocks.org from Pexels

Lillianna Difini

Valentine’s Day is a special day dedicated to proving to your loved ones just how much they mean to you. Oftentimes, love and value on Valentine’s Day is demonstrated through decorative cards, special gifts, bouquets of flowers and, most importantly, overpriced chocolate.

Regardless of your opinion on this particular holiday, there are certain aspects relating to love that many individuals tend to never think about. Due to different personality traits as well as personality characteristics, each individual tends to show and receive love in one of five different ways: words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time and physical touch.

In the spirit of Valentine’s Day, we are going to discuss these five different types of love languages. Furthermore, I included an online quiz where I will explain my own love language according to my results.

The first type of love language, words of affirmation, describes individuals who value verbal compliments. No matter how meaningful these compliments may be, this type of love language reaffirms their value based off of other’s words. 

The second love language, acts of service, relates to any individual who believes in the phrase “actions speak louder than words.” This love language describes individuals who value those actions and go out of their way to complete acts that are meaningful to their significant other, whether this be cooking their favorite meal or simply opening a door for them. 

Receiving gifts is a particularly self-explanatory love language. Those who relate to this language adore receiving tangible items that make them feel appreciated. 

Quality time, the fourth love language, means that an individual most highly values one-on-one attention between them and their partner. People who identify with this love language desire complete and total attention from their significant other while spending meaningful time together. 

The last love language, physical touch, is also rather self-identifiable. Individuals who identify with this love language feel the most adored and appreciated through physical contact. 

Now that each love language is covered, I decided to delve deeper into my own research and determine what love language I best identify with. With the particular quiz I included, you can best determine your love language by setting the quiz to what relationship and age status best defines you. After a short initial setup, your quiz will be underway! 

My personal results listed the five different love languages in order of what most applies to me based on my responses to the quiz. Quality time was the love language that applied the most to me. Following this love language in order were words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts and physical touch. 

Understanding your own personal love language will help you better assess the ways in which you feel the most valued and appreciated. Furthermore, understanding each of the five different love languages will help you better interpret the needs of your loved ones as well as the best methods of making them feel the most loved and appreciated. I encourage readers to take the quiz listed below and to elaborate on your results with family and friends!

Take the quiz here.

Information source:

Love, Crated with. “The 5 Love Languages® And What They Mean.” Crated With Love, 25 Oct. 2019, cratedwithlove.com/blog/five-love-languages-and-what-they-mean/

Featured image by freestocks.org from Pexels